Posted by: Ellie Kutz | March 1, 2011

Could I, Should I, Would I Blog?

I’ll close this issue with a confession.  I am not a blogger, although I’m a maybe or could-be or perhaps even a wanna-be blogger.  I participate in blogs related to my field (e.g. the blog of the Conference on English Education of NCTE), I read blogs in various areas of interest, from those of the New York Times to the Imaginary Boundaries blog about music and writing by my colleague Wayne Rhodes.  I appreciate blog-writing as it is used for a number of purposes, from pedagogical ones to the promotion and discussion of work in progress that are typical of artists and other creative freelancers.  As a teacher of writing, I see blog-writing as playing an important role in the development of a writer’s voice, in gaining a sense of audience.  As someone whose work in the study of discourse has always had an anthropological bent, I’m interested in the identifiable discourse communities of bloggers that have arisen and helped to shape many sub-cultures:  blogger moms or blogger pet lovers, as well as communities with more intellectual pursuits.  But, other than creating course blogs and posting an example or two for students when I’m asking them to blog in response to course work (and I do respond to their posts), or using a blog site to create this newsletter, I’ve never maintained a blog myself—never kept a blog entirely for my own purposes, entirely in my own voice. 

Nevertheless, I’m convinced of the value of blogging for reflection and sharing.  So I decided to try out our new Edublogs tool by starting my own blog, seeing it potentially as a place to post reflections on disparate areas of interest that I’m trying to pay more attention to after my years of an academic life focused intensely on words.  

I’ve only made one post so far, and I found I needed to choose something other than the default template (theme) to get the text to appear next to the image I uploaded,  but otherwise the tool worked well for me and I should be able to add posts quickly in the future.

So I hope that for me, in the words of one of my graduate students, “the personalized nature of blogs” might offer a space to bring creativity to my life and my writing in ways that I might share with my own immediate communities. We’ll see whether I can practice what I preach.

Leave a Reply

Categories

